Review: Third World Canada

by Claire Owens

Learning about conflict around the world can give you a strange feeling. At first you’re shocked and wonder how you didn’t know about it earlier. Then what runs through your head is what should be done about it. Finally, the saddest part is that so few people will actually use this knowledge and act upon the situation.

Andrée Cazabon can consider herself a part of a small population that is informed about the Aboriginal Communities located in Northern Ontario. As a director, her objective is to teach the people of Canada about the reputed ‘other’ people of Canada. Andrée’s film Third World Canada tells the story of Kitchenuhmaykoosib Inninuwug (KI) and the people living there whose hardships and poverty go unnoticed by the rest of the country. The documentary particularly focuses on the lives of eight children whose father, stepfather and mother sequentially committed suicide. The film attempts to break the barriers put up between Aboriginal people and white supremacy, offset stereotypes and most importantly give the people of KI a voice.

It sucks to come to terms with that fact that you can be so naïve to something so close to home. I am a Canadian, and more specifically an Ontarian, and yet I had no idea that a third of my province consists of remote, impoverished Aboriginal communities. Watching Third World Canada made me feel sad, bad and uninformed, but most of all it made me feel grateful. Grateful that my parents love me, grateful for the house and lifestyle I have grown up in, grateful to go to school, eat healthy meals and do things that every child should be entitled to in their life. I’m don’t know if feeling grateful after watching this film makes me selfish, but that is really what went through my mind as a viewer.

This kind of film is why I love watching documentaries. Directors make it their duty and goal to find a topic that people are uninformed or misinformed about, and make the truth known. They bring you the facts in hopes that it will make an impact on your life. When a film does do this, as a viewer, you never forget it.

Third World Canada

