DIY: Cork Board (Literally)

by Claire Owens

DIY: Cork Board (Literally)

The unemployed life has blessed me with tons of spare time to do things I usually don’t have the time to do, such as, find a home for the garbage bag full of wine corks I’ve had in my room for the past two years.

Yes, you heard me. I have a full garbage bag full of wine corks. I guess you could say my parents like to drink vino. You may think I’m joking but I’m serious, I am a screw top kind of girl!

My mom has been collecting wine corks for as long as I can remember. She loves to craft (just like me!) so she collects the corks in hopes of putting them to use in some creative way. She made a really cool cork wreath about ten years ago that still hangs in our kitchen.

The other day I decided to finally put them to use and made my very own cork board out of them! The finished product is looks so cool (as you can see above). How did I do this you ask? A few simple steps:

1) Collect a mass of wine corks.
2) Buy a regular bulletin board. Luckily, I already had one on hand.
3) Plug in your hot glue gun.
4) Glue the corks onto the board. I opted to give mine a bit of a different border.

Mine is hung up in my room I think it looks great.

Now all I have to do is figure out what I’m going to do with the half-filled garbage full of corks I’m left with…

